3 years ago

A young boy laying on a stretcher

Kyle

(narration)

My name is Kyle, I’m a diagnosed schizophrenic. All my life I could see angels or demons walking among us.

doctor

OK son, you can go.

Kyle gets off the stretcher.

Kyle grabs his coat and leaves the room.

KYLE

(narration)

I figure that these angels and demons each have a purpose in their on-going war.

Kyle leaves the hospital building.

Kyle see’s Darius waiting for him outside the hospital.

Darius

Hey Kyle!

Kyle

(narration)

That’s Darius. He’s my best friend.

DARIUS

So? What did they say?

KYLE

The usual.. take 2 tablets at night. Check in after a few months and complete the exercises.

DARIUS

If only they knew who you really were. I’m sorry Kyle.

Kyle

Ahh, it’s fine. Hey, I was thinking maybe we can..

Darius

You talking about..

KYLE

uh -huh!

Darius smiles.

flying-high: afternoon – later

Darius is holding Kyle from the armpits in the sky.

Darius has black wings, pitch black eyes and is flying way above the city.

Kyle is letting out shouts of joy.

Darius and Kyle land in an open field.

Darius and Kyle are laughing in the open field.

kyle

That never gets old!

DARIUS

Reminds me of the time when I was in battle.

kyle

You were in battle?

DARIUS

There were many wars unseen by the mortal eye my friend. And when we were tricked into going against God, there was an endless war in hell too.

KYLE

But why did you-

Rattling in the bushes stops Kyle from speaking.

2 young men emerge.

Houstan

Still telling of our war stories old friend?

Darius

Houstan..

Jermaine

And Jermaine!

Kyle

Who are they Darius? I can see that they have black wings..

HOUSTAN

Ah, and the abomination, the link.

DARIUS

Stay behind me Kyle.

Darius steps in front of Kyle.

HOUSTAN

You know.. it doesn’t befit you to go against his glory in such a fashion.

JERMAINE

nice flying by the way. I see you’ve learned a trick or two.

DARIUS

What do you want?

HOUSTAN

You know damn well what I want, now hand the link over!

KYLE

Darius? What are they talking about?

DARIUS

Kyle! Just stay behind me!

HOUSTAN

Well? Seems we have a bit of a problem..

JERMAINE

I get it! He’s your redemption!

KYLE

what does he mean Darius?

DARIUS

Kyle, listen to me, don’t be pulled into their tricks.

HOUSTAN

Oh come on now my friend. These aren’t tricks.. You hadn’t told him I presume? Kyle, is it? You ever wonder how a fallen angel gets freed from hell?

KYLE

How?

HOUSTAN

By being given a mission. Would you like to know  what Darius’ mission is?

DARIUS

Don’t!

KYLE

What is it?

HOUSTAN

To bring you to hell!

darius charges after houstan

houstan laughs

jermaine springs forth dark wings from his back.

a fight goes on between Darius, Houstan and Jermaine.

Houstan throws Darius onto a tree

Darius gets up slowly from the hit

Darius lets out a yell and a wave of energy flows from his body

dirt and shrubs get into houstan and jermaines eyes

Darius

Kyle! Run!

JERMAINE

Traitor!

HOUSTAN

Redeemer!

Kyle runs through the woods

Darius sends out another blast of energy.

The forest: night – later

Kyle has stopped running to catch his breath

wings can be heard flying

Kyle looks around

Darius lands in front of him.

DARIUS

Come on!

KYLE

Why should I trust you? This whole time.. were you just trying to get me to go to hell with you?

DARIUS

Kyle it’s not like that and we don’t have much time. They’ll be coming for us.

KYLE

I trusted you!

DARIUS

Kyle listen to me. Before I came along you were alone, afraid.. weren’t you? You could see things that no other human could.. I helped you understand those things and protected you as best I could. If I really wanted to harm you I could have done so a long time ago!

Kyle

So it’s true what he said then. I’m just your chance at redemption?

Darius stares at Kyle.

Darius lowers his head and looks away.

Wings can be heard in the distance.

DARIUS

They’re coming! We have to move Kyle.. I know it’s complicated right now but you have to trust me!

KYLE

But you lied to me! How can I trust you, you’re one of them!

wings get closer.

Darius steps forward to Kyle.

DARIUS

Your my best friend Kyle. And I won’t let anything happen to you. Redemption or no redemption. Now come on!

Darius grabs Kyle and flies into the dark sky.

Hiding out: they know now – night

Kyle and Darius are in a warehouse outside the city.

Darius is looking outside of a window.

kyle

This whole time.. this whole time you never once told me..

DARIUS

I tried Kyle.. but.. I just couldn’t bring myself to. I.. I didn’t want to lose a friend.

KYLE

So what happens now? What if they find me?

DARIUS

If they find you they’ll bring you to Barabose. He’s the fallen angel in charge of their mission.

KYLE

Barabose?

DARIUS

A chaotic fallen angel who enjoys seeing others suffer.

KYLE

And you served under him?

Darius turns around angrily.

Darius

I had no choice! You..you don’t know what it’s like.. in hell.. constant war.. the torture they’d do to you if they found ..if they found out..

KYLE

Found out what?

DARIUS

If you were a redeemer.

Darius and Kyle stare at each other.

KYLE

So what now? We just keep hiding?

DARIUS

There’s nowhere on this planet to hide Kyle. By now they’ve told the others.

Kyle

Others?

DARIUS

There were 6 of us put on this mission. Plus the demonics that count for hundreds.. thousands.

Kyle

Who are the 6?

DARIUS

Aside from myself.. Houstan, Jermaine, Fresco, Permeus and Julian. All who hate humans and redeemers.

DARIUS

They’ll bring us both to Barabose, to hell.

KYLE

And what will happen to you?

DARIUS

Now that they know I’m a redeemer.. anything he sets his mind on. Try and get some sleep I’ll keep watch. We’ll go into the nearest town and get supplies on day break.

Kyle

Supplies? For what?

DARIUS

We’re going to New York Kyle. there are others like me who could help.

KYLE

You mean, others who want to be redeemed.

Darius and Kyle stare at each other.

Town war: day

Kyle wakes up on a mattress

Darius is looking outside a window.

Darius and Kyle make their way to town.

Kyle is picking up supplies.

Darius is keeping watch outside the store.

clerk

(looking outside)

Your friend there ok? He just keeps looking up into the sky all.. weird.

kyle

He’s fine.. just loves the sky I guess.

clerk

that’ll be twenty fifty.

Kyle pays and leaves the store.

kyle

Now what?

DARIUS

You go back inside until I tell you it’s safe.

Across the street Jermaine is standing.

Jermaine is staring angrily.

Kyle goes back inside.

The clerk peers over the counter to see what’s going on.

JERMAINE

Redeemer! Give me the child and I’ll tell Barabose you aided me, maybe your punishment will be lessened once he hears of this news!

DARIUS

You’re not touching Kyle, Jermaine, got it?

Jermaine snickers

Jermaine begins walking back and forth

JERMAINE

Remember that war? When the spear was pointed to your throat? Who saved you then?

DARIUS

You did, Jermaine.

JERMAINE

And the war in hell.. though countless there is, that one between Barabose and Polocti that I remember so very well. Two demons held onto your very wings and were about to tear them off.. who saved you?

DARIUS

You did Jermaine.

JERMAINE

My dear friend.. if we go to war now..against one another, then who will save you?

Jermaine and Darius stare at one another.

DARIUS

We don’t have to do this Jermaine.

Jermaine laughs.

JERMAINE

You don’t know Barabose like I do my old friend. He won’t let such things go lightly. Don’t you see? I’m your only hope! Hand him over and let us stick with the plea!

DARIUS

I can’t do that Jermaine.

JERMAINE

Then it’s too late..

Jermaine and Darius look to the left.

A group of people are walking to them.

DARIUS

Kyle! What are they?

KYLE

(looks)

Demons Darius! They’re demons!

CLERK

What in the hell? Now look.. if you boys plan on fighting on my lot you better think again.

Clerk exits the store.

Walks past Darius and is standing in between Darius and Jermaine.

Looks to the left and sees the group of young men.

CLERK

Now if you boys plan on getting hokey dokey on my lot best you think again and take it elsewhere.

group still walking towards them.

Clerk walks over to the group.

clerk

Did you hear what I said? You boys deaf?

One of the young men grabs the clerk by the throat.

The clerk is choking

the young man picks the clerk up off his feet with one hand on his throat

the clerks eyes widen

the young man laughs before snapping his neck

DARIUS

Kyle! Get to the back and whatever you do don’t come out!

JERMAINE

Darius!

The group of men attack Darius

Jermaine reaches out for Darius from where he is standing

Jermaine retracts his hand and looks down

Darius is fighting the demons in mortal form

One of the demons slams Darius through a window

Kyle see’s Darius in the rubble

Kyle

Darius!

DARIUS

Stay back Kyle!

Darius “explodes” the rubble off him

He is standing with pitch black eyes

Black wings are extruding from Darius’ back

Darius has his head down and is breathing heavily

Darius raises his head

Darius

AHHH!

Darius is fighting the demons alone

The demons begin to overtake Darius

KYLE

Darius!

The demons reach for Darius’ wings

The demons are about to rip Darius’ wings off

A demon is seen flying by and smashes into a wall

The demons holding Down Darius look at the demon then turn their heads from where he was thrown

Jermaine has pitch black eyes with black wings extruding from his back

Darius looks up at Jermaine

Jermaine flies towards Darius

Jermaine takes off the demons holding Darius down

Jermaine and Darius fight side by side

The Talk: bus – night

DARIUS

Why’d you help us back there?

JERMAINE

(laughs)

Mission after mission brother.. when does it end? Besides I’m interested to know why myself.

KYLE

Why what?

JERMAINE

Why Darius has chosen to follow through on our mission afterall..

KYLE

What does he mean Darius?

DARIUS

New York.

JERMAINE

(laughing)

your friend seems at a loss Darius.

KYLE

Darius? I trusted you.. I..

DARIUS

It’s not like that Kyle.

KYLE

Then tell me.. what’s going on? Please Darius, if this is about me I should know.

JERMAINE

If you won’t I will.

DARIUS

(sigh)

Our mission was ordered by Barabose to retrieve the link. The one who can see angels and demons in their mortal form. Once we were to capture the link, we were to bring him to new york.

Kyle

Why? What’s in New York?

DARIUS

The key.

Kyle

The key? And who’s the key?

DARIUS

We don’t know.. that is why we needed you. To help us find the Key. The key that unlocks the door between heaven and earth.

JERMAINE

(claps his hands)

Well said brother!

DARIUS

But don’t be mistaken Jermaine! I’m not handing Kyle over or the key.

JERMAINE

Yes, yes I know.. Redeemer.

DARIUS

So what do you make of it then? We both serve separate missions..

JERMAINE

Perhaps.. or maybe I’m just curious to see how this all goes along. I’ll join you in your slight crusade but be fair warned that Houstan and the other 4 are resilient to changing their ways. They’ll be hunting you down, Darius. Even if it takes a life time.

KYLE

Darius.. I have to know one more thing. If this isn’t about redemption why are you protecting me?

JERMAINE

Yes Darius. Why?

DARIUS

It’s the right thing to do.

JERMAINE

We were all tricked by him Darius. Don’t be so hard on yourself. We all want that vengence you seek. Perhaps even redemption.

New york: day – later

The 3 young men get off the bus

the bus drives off.

The 3 are standing in the streets of new york.

DARIUS

Kyle.. what do you see?

kyle

We’re safe. It’s just people.. happy people.. sad people.. but people.

DARIUS

Then we should start looking.

JERMAINE

Was this the plan? To just search the streets of N.Y without a direct goal? You know Barabose has demons doing this as we speak.

DARIUS

Yes, but they don’t have the link. Soul’s bliss can only do so much.

KYLE

Soul’s bliss? What’s that?

JERMAINE

Demonic Possession manufactured straight from the underworld.

DARIUS

It allows demons to cross over undetected and without struggle. It kills the human just before placing a demon in the body. That way exorcism won’t work.

KYLE

Where do the spirits go?

DARIUS

They get trapped in Hell.

KYLE

Well, can we free them?

JERMAINE

Only one way my inquisitive friend.

DARIUS

The Key.

hotel: night

Darius, Kyle and Jermaine are in a hotel

Darius is watching from the window

Jermaine is leaning by the wall near the door

Kyle is sitting on the bed

kyle

So what happens next?

DARIUS

We begin searching tomorrow.

Jermaine scoffs.

DARIUS

Care to share?

JERMAINE

You don’t know Houstan like I do. He is a war vet. Fought in just about every war waged in heaven and hell. He knows strategy, he knows plans and he has probably figured out we’re here by now.

DARIUS

And?

JERMAINE

And..

Jermaine gets off the wall and walks towards Darius

JERMAINE

(angry)

If you had taken my offer we both wouldn’t be heeding death as I speak. Houstan know’s no mercy and his tyranny is unspoken of.

darius

If you’re afraid tell me now Jermaine.

JERMAINE

You don’t know fear until you’ve met Barabose’s wrath. We’re in New York are we not?

DARIUS

Yes?

JERMAINE

Where do you think he would’ve deployed the black suits first?

Kyle

Guys, what are the black suits?

DARIUS

Think of them as dealers. Highly skilled demons who give away Souls bliss to the weak and broken of this world.

JERMAINE

You have a lot of questions don’t you for one who should be the link.

DARIUS

I’ve kept it away from him, for his own good.

JERMAINE

(scoffs)

You seem to really take to this redeemer thing don’t you?

DARIUS

You should try it.

JERMAINE

God is not one to forgive so easily.

KYLE

That’s not true! The bible tells you to ask and ye shall receive. Just ask him..

JERMAINE

It seems your young friend here has a lot to learn about God.

DARIUS

But perhaps he’s right, Jermaine?

Jermaine looks at Kyle.

Jermaine looks away.

JERMAINE

We’ll keep watch.

KYLE

Darius.. you sure we can trust him? I mean, what if he’s just tagging along so we find the key for him?

DARIUS

It’ll be alright Kyle. Get some rest. We’ll keep watch.

Kyle goes to bed.

Darius and Jermaine stare out the window.

Jermaine crosses his arms.

Streets of N.Y: day

the 3 are walking down the street

The 3 end up standing across the street from a piano building

Kyle looks up to the building and see’s Liela playing the piano.

Kyle looks closer and see’s white wings come from her back.

KYLE

He- hey! Guys! Hey, look over there!

DARIUS

What is it Kyle?

KYLE

It’s an angel! She’s beautiful!

JERMAINE

Where?

KYLE

3rd floor, the one on the piano!

Jermaine and Darius look and see Liela.

Jermaine Whistles.

DARIUS

Let’s go.

JERMAINE

Careful Darius. Even if you are a redeemer they have their orders too. Destroy on sight.

KYLE

But maybe she know’s where the key is, it’s our only shot.

Darius crosses the street.

JERMAINE

Darius!?

DARIUS

Stay out here with Kyle, just in case. I’ll be back shortly.

Darius enters the building.

Darius goes up the stairs.

Darius opens the door which leads to Liela

Noone is at the piano.

A door creaks as it closes

The door leads to the roof.

Darius goes through the door.

Liela is at the roof, waiting for Darius.

Liela

What’s your business here?

DARIUS

My name is Darius.. I’m..

Liela

I know what you are Darius and your other friend. who is the third?

Darius

The Link.

Liela

You brought the link here!? Why!

Darius

How did you know what I am?

Liela

I knew once you stepped foot into my zone.

Darius

Of course.. You’re a Guardian.

Liela

You still didn’t answer my question. Why did you bring the link into my city!?

Darius

We’re looking for someone.. someone special.

Liela

Who?

Darius

The key.

Liela

(shouts)

Wrong answer!

Liela transforms into an Angel

Her eyes are glowing blue

Darius raises his hands.

darius

Wait! Just wait a second, let me explain. I’m a redeemer!

Liela

Once a traitor always a traitor.

Liela charges at Darius.

Darius transforms into a fallen angel

Liela Swings with her right hand

Darius dodges

Liela breaks a wall with a loud thunderous strike

JERMAINE

Heads up kid, sounds like rain

Jermaine and Kyle look up

The people on the street of newyork don’t notice

darius

Wait! Just let me explain!

LIELA

A traitor is only filled with a lying tongue.

Liela brings forth a sword.

Darius brings forth a sword.

The two clash.

Liela wins over Darius.

Liela has her foot pinning Darius on the ground.

Liela points her sword at Darius’ neck.

LIELA

The key will never belong to you and your kind, traitor.

DARIUS

It’s Darius. And I’m not trying to have the key belong to me.

Liela

Then what do you want with it? Speak!

Darius

I..I ..I have questions I..

Liela

(raises her eyebrows)

I see.. You think he can be your redemption.

Darius says nothing.

Wings can be heard in the air.

a quick flash of a being is seen.

Liela is knocked off and slammed through the door.

Darius

Permeus!

Liela and Permeus are fighting.

Darius jumps between the two and kicks Permeus into the piano.

Liela see’s this.

DARIUS

Permeus wait!

PERMEUS

TRAITOR!

Permeus picks up the piano and throws it at Darius.

JERMAINE

I’ll need you to stay right here Kyle.

Jermaine crosses the street.

Darius is fighting with Permeus

Permeus is struck down by Darius.

Liela strikes down Darius.

Permeus attacks Liela.

Liela dodges and strikes Permeus

Permeus gets upset and brings forth a sword

Permeus becomes faster and stronger

Permeus strikes down Darius and goes after Liela

Liela and Permeus are struggling/ wrestling

PERMEUS

What a prize. To kill an angel and a traitor. What rewards shall Barabose grant me?

LIELA

Barabose?

jermaine

(enters through the door)

Darius! His wings! Make him mortal!

Permeus looks over to Jermaine

Permeus

Traitor!

Darius grabs Permeus by the wings

Permeus struggles with Darius

Liela helps Darius

they tear off his wings

Permeus eyes become normal

Permeus is mortal

JERMAINE

You alright?

DARIUS

I’m fine.

Darius picks himself up

Liela takes stance with a sword

DARIUS

Hey, hey! When will you get it? We’re on your side. Look what just happened here.

LIELA

There were better tricks done to our kind, you know this better than I.

JERMAINE

(sigh)

I told you dude, they are hot wired with order.

DARIUS

Look! We just need to make sure the key stays safe, that’s all.

LIELA

It’s safe. You can leave my city now.

JERMAINE

(whistles)

She’s telling you bro.

DARIUS

You aren’t helping Jermaine

Darius turns mortal.

Liela looks him up and down.

DARIUS

Look.. it’s a bad situation I know. And trusting me is what you can’t do.. I just.. I just..

Liela

You just what!?

Jermaine

He wants his God back.

Darius

We both do.

Liela stares between Jermaine and Darius.

Liela lets down her sword.

Liela transforms back into a mortal.

Liela walks to the window.

Kyle is looking around on the street corner.

liela

Is that him? The Link?

Darius

That’s him. His name is Kyle.

Liela

He’s young.

Jermaine

You considering?

Liela

If you so wish to win God back. Guard that kid with your life. Be his guardian, defend him to the death.

Darius

I do that because he is my friend.

Liela

It’s forbidden to attach emotions.

Jermaine

Come on now, we’ve heard of you guardians falling in love with other guardians. With humans.. your bonds in mortal form are far too strong.

Darius

You know where the key is? Don’t you?

Liela says nothing.

Liela is staring at Kyle.

Darius

Please just help us. We’ve come a long way and Houstan knows of my plans..He’ll be on his way soon

Liela

He’s already here.

Jermaine

There goes the plea.

DARIUS

Come on! we came all this way

Liela

(shouts)

For nothing!

Jermaine

(laughs)

DARIUS

Why are you being so difficult?

Liela

Why are you being so naive?

Jermaine

(whispers)

ouch

LIELA

If the link locates the key, Barabose will just send his hordes after it. You can’t possibly defend against the hundreds of demons which plague this city.

DARIUS

You know of Barabose?

Liela

It would amaze you to know what I know redeemer.

JERMAINE

Alright, let’s just have a time out. We’re not here to do the key any harm. In fact if you don’t believe our words you can ask Kyle himself.

STREETS OF N.Y: DAY – 2

Liela, Jermaine and Darius meet up with Kyle at a park

Jermaine is leading Liela to Kyle

Liela

Kyle?

kyle

he- hey?

Liela

You’ve come a long way. How are you feeling Kyle?

KYLE

Aside from fallen angels trying to kill me..I’m feeling pretty good.

Liela turns her head back towards Darius and Jermaine

KYLE

Not those guys! They’re my friends.

Jermaine raises an eyebrow at this.

Liela looks sternly

Liela breaks a smile

Liela

I hear you are looking for the key, can you tell me why Kyle?

KYLE

If he’s the key between heaven and earth maybe he has some answers for me. Why I can see the way I see. Why I can see you for who you truly are.

LIELA

It doesn’t work that way Kyle.

Liela moves closer to Kyle.

Liela puts her hand on Kyle’s shoulder.

liela

Sometimes we have to let go of the things we cannot answer in order to find peace. Do you understand what I mean Kyle?

KYLE

I think so. You want us to abandon our mission.

LIELA

Yes, I do.

KYLE

But we’ve come such a long way! We don’t have a home to go to anymore!

LIELA

I understand Kyle.. but..

KYLE

No you don’t understand! Me and Darius were happy! We had plans to travel the world! What do you expect us to do now?

LIELA

We can find that out, together Kyle. It will be OK.

Kyle

So what do we do now Liela? Wait in a motel until you say what we do next? This isn’t the life I chose to live.

JERMAINE

She’s your only chance of survival Kyle. Listen to her words.

Liela turns to look at Jermaine.

Jermaine shrugs his shoulders and looks away.

Darius looks up into the sky fearfully.

Jermaine and Liela follow.

liela

Who is that?

Jermaine

Judging by the weight of the wind change I’d say it’s our dear ol’ friend Julian.

kyle

That’s one of the 6 isn’t it?

DARIUS

Come on Kyle it’s no longer safe here for you!

Liela

Where will you go? You’ll just as well lead him into a den of demons. Barabose knows this city like I do and Julian is probably the trick to that trap which awaits you.

JERMAINE

So what do you suggest? We don’t have that much time for planning.

LIELA

Follow me.

underground: night

Liela, Darius, Jermaine and Kyle are underground.

Liela is making a bed for Kyle

Darius and Kyle are talking

Jermaine makes his way over to Liela

Jermaine sits on the bed before Liela can spread it

Liela scoffs

JERMAINE

You know, Liela is it? You have such impeccable beauty. I hope the one you are guarding has acknowledged it so true.

LIELA

That’s neither necessary or of your concern Jermaine.

Liela shoves Jermaine off the bed

Liela continues spreading the bed for Kyle.

Jermaine moves closer to Liela

JERMAINE

Not into bad boys?

LIELA

Or rebels.

Liela moves from the bed and makes her way to a desk

Jermaine is taken aback.

JERMAINE

You know, the one you’re supposed to guard? What are they like?

LIELA

What do you care?

JERMAINE

I’m just wondering. It seems they lack the placement of joy in your life.

LIELA

My guard was never the issue.

JERMAINE

Then what was?

Liela takes a moment between what she is doing

Liela turns around and steps closer to Jermaine

Darius and Kyle watch

LIELA

When the tradition was broken and the war started, I had friends – Jermaine. Friends who were forced to become special mortals on earth. Friends who only wanted their God back, who were hunted down and killed. This very place was one of their hide outs in the time of great slaughter. I had friends before I became a Guardian Jermaine. You only represent what has happened to them, the pain I’ve felt and the loss in heaven.

Darius looks down ashamed.

Jermaine looks down ashamed.

Liela stares at Jermaine sternly.

Liela walks away from Jermaine.

LIELA

I’m going to check on my guard. You’ll find all you need over there. I’ll be back shortly. Kyle, rest well.

KYLE

Thanks Liela.

Liela leaves.

Kyle notices Darius is still looking down.

KYLE

What did she mean by angels becoming special mortals? Is that possible?

Jermaine

yes. Any mortal that has power exceeding the strength of a human is a special mortal. Like yourself.

KYLE

How do angels become special mortals?

Jermaine

(raises his head)

You tear off his wings.

KYLE

So that’s what you did to that guy back there, you made him a special mortal?

JERMAINE

yes.

kyle

Is there a way they can get their wings back?

Darius looks at Jermaine

Jermaine stares at Darius

end of scene.

2 days later

KYLE

It’s been two days guys. Maybe somethings happened to her?

DARIUS

She’s a guardian. Her first task is to guard the mortal she is assigned to.

JERMAINE

but maybe he’s right?

Darius and Kyle look at Jermaine with curious eyes.

JERMAINE

I mean.. we don’t know exactly who she is or what she does aside from play the piano but it doesn’t seem to fit her character to just leave us here for 2 days unanswered.

DARIUS

What are you suggesting?

JERMAINE

We go look for her. We all have questions that need answering don’t we?

DARIUS

Yours more than mine it seems..

JERMAINE

It’s not like that..

DARIUS

Then what is it? We both saw what went on between you two..

JERMAINE

What are you getting at?

DARIUS

you like her.. don’t you?

Jermaine breathes heavily in anger

Jermaine turns around and crosses his arms.

Kyle smiles at Darius

JERMAINE

She’s annoying what she is. Can’t speak past her ideologies or give a man a second chance is what. If she were God I could verily assume..

Liela

Assume what?

Liela walks through the door.

Jermaine turns around

Darius and Kyle chuckle

JERMAINE

..that she’d be justified in her ways.
Liela gives Kyle some food

KYLE

What about the others?

Liela

They’ll be fine.

DARIUS

It’s what I’ve been saying about angels who turn mortal Kyle. They never have to hunger or thirst.

KYLE

(takes a bite out of his burger)

But I’ve seen you eat?

JERMAINE

Notwithstanding some angels delight in God’s creation. Doesn’t mean we have to. We can survive without food or drink in mortal form.

KYLE

for how long?

JERMAINE

Forever.

KYLE

I get it. This gives the mortals a chance to become redeemed.

JERMAINE

You got it.

KYLE

So what’s next Liela?

Liela

I’ve been doing some searching around and I think I found a guy who might have the answers your friends seek.

the zoo: night

Liela, Jermaine, Darius and Kyle are at the zoo

Liela, Jermaine, Darius and Kyle sneak into the zoo

The zoo is closed and empty.

liela

His name is Hopkins. Jonathon Hopkins. He’s a fallen turned special mortal.

DARIUS

Working at a zoo?

JERMAINE

Not exactly a qualification for redemption is it?

LIELA

Caring for God’s creation is only a matter of righteousness.

KYLE

So where do we find this guy?

LIELA

This way.

Liela, Jermaine, Dairus and Kyle walk.

Jermaine catches up to Liela.

JERMAINE

The zoo huh? So this can be counted as a date? Isn’t that what these humans say?

Liela

(laughs)

It’s far from a date Jermaine.

Liela spots J. Hopkins.

Liela waves to J. Hopkins

J. Hopkins waves back.

Inside the zoo: night- later

Kyle and Darius are looking at a polar bear floating in water

Jermaine and Liela are talking with J. Hopkins

JERMAINE

So a special mortal huh?

J.Hopkins

During my guardianship when I lost my guard.. I gave up my wings. I was ashamed. I wanted to prove myself worthy to God again. So I chose the life of a special mortal.

JERMAINE

So you tore off your own wings?

J.HOPKINS

yes.

LIELA

How does one become redeemed?

J.HOPKINS

It’s not an easy task Liela. But there are two courses.

JERMAINE

What are they?

J.HOPKINS

The first one is self sacrifice, but you have to be a mortal in order to die. Once you die you are redeemed in heaven by God.

JERMAINE

ehh, let’s skip that one. What’s the second?

J.HOPKINS

Taking upon yourself guardianship of a human.

a lady in a zoo uniform walks by and smiles at J.Hopkins.

Jermaine notices and smiles.

JERMAINE

I get it.. the zoo. You chose a mortal who looks after God’s creations.

J.HOPKINS

yes.. I did.

LIELA

How will you know that you are redeemed?

J.HOPKINS

Well.. if you are mortal and self -sacrifice.

Jermaine shakes his head no sarcastically.

J.Hopkins raises an eyebrow.

J.HOPKINS

You will know in heaven once God decrees you with your wings again.

Liela

and guardianship?

J.HOPKINS

That’s usually a route for the fallen angels to take but their wings  would change back to white and their pitch black eyes to that bright blue.

JERMAINE

How long would it take?

J.HOPKINS

you never know. It could take a lifetime.. an eternity, it all depends on your motive.

JERMAINE

Like you do for her?

J.HOPKINS

I’m curious to know. When did you lose your guard.. Jermaine was it?

JERMAINE

I didn’t lose a –

LIELA

He’s confused right now.

J. Hopkins looks at Jermaine strangely.

J.HOPKINS

Give it to me straight Liela..

JERMAINE

I’m a fallen pops.

J.Hopkins eyes widen.

J.HOPKINS

What’s the meaning of this Liela!? Bringing a fallen angel here to my advisement! God’s law is sanctioned we are-

LIELA

We are to have nothing to do with the fallen. I know. But this time it’s different.. they have this special mortal you see-

J.HOPKINS

No! I will have no part of this..of this abomination!

J.Hopkins leaves angrily down the hall.

Liela yells “Wait” and chases after J. Hopkins

Jermaine Follows.

Darius and Kyle watch from afar.

KYLE

What was that about?

DARIUS

Our kind isn’t welcome anywhere.. heaven, hell or even earth.

KYLE

I can see that.

DARIUS

We thought once we rebelled that we would be able to love in the way we wanted to.. to prove that God’s love was something beyond laws and sanctions.

KYLE

is that what happened? How he tricked you?

DARIUS

Satan was very influential with his words. He spoke of things between he and God to which we never heard. He told half-truths that turned out to be lies.

KYLE

Then what happened?

DARIUS

We were cast out to hell. In hell it was constant war.. constant tests for strengths and titles. There was no end. The fallen broke up into two groups eventually when some of us wanted God back.

KYLE

The fallen and the redeemers.

Darius nods his head yes.

DARIUS

Some of us join missions to earth just so we could get away..

KYLE

Like you?

DARIUS

And Jermaine.. though he doesn’t want to admit it for strength in pride.. he wants God back just as much as I do.

Kyle

Hey, I’ve been wondering.. what’s God like.

Darius laughs

Darius is about to explain until he suddenly stops

Darius looks around

Darius becomes angered

Darius pushes Kyle out of the way

The ceiling breaks through

Darius is knocked to the ground

A 7’1 angel is standing between Darius and Kyle

his eyes are pitch black and his wings are black

DARIUS

..Julian! Run kyle! Alert the others! Run!

Julian turns to look at kyle

Kyle scampers on the floor

Kyle gets to his feet and runs in the opposite direction

Darius rises on his feet

Julian turns to face Darius

JULIAN

Permeus is mortal, I wouldn’t have thought the rumor true. Are you?

Darius

yes Julian, I’m a redeemer. It doesn’t have to be this way.. for anyone! We can find our way back home again we can ask God for his forgiveness!

JULIAN

I am home.

Julian raises his hand

A giant hammer on a staff appears in Julians hand.

Julian slams the ground towards Darius

The ground shakes and Darius jumps out of the way

Darius transforms into a fallen

DARIUS

Julian, please! We don’t have to do this. Just trust what I say there is a way.

Julian walks towards Darius.

JULIAN

Rumors, that’s all it is good for.

Julian and Darius begin fighting.

fight sequence ends with Julian grabbing Darius by the throat.

Wings can be heard coming in at an alarming rate.

Liela and Jermaine are flying towards Julian.

Jermaine tackles Julian and begins fighting.

Liela helps Darius

Liela joins the fight with Julian

J. Hopkins and Kyle come from the end of the hall.

Kyle and J. Hopkins watch the fight

Liela strikes the staff of Julian’s hammer breaking it into a smaller wield.

Julian breaks Liela’s sword with his hammer

Liela kicks the hammer out of Julians hands

Fight ends with Jermaine ripping off Julians wings.

Liela takes Julians hammer.

Julian is now mortal and feels fear for the first time.

DARIUS

It’s called fear.. Julian.

JULIAN

I don’t.. take it away! Give me back my wings!

LIELA

We can’t stay here, others are sure to come.

J.HOPKINS

I’ll take care of him, you guys get out of here.

outside the zoo: night – later

People have gathered on the opposite side of the zoo fence

They are staring at Liela, Darius, Jermaine and Kyle

JERMAINE

Who are all these people?

DARIUS

Kyle?

Kyle steps forward and looks

KYLE

They’ve all got red eyes..?

LIELA

Demons.

A shout comes out from the crowd

The people begin climbing and jumping over the fence

The 3 angels show their wings

LIELA

Protect Kyle Darius!

Liela and Jermaine go into battle

Darius fights those that get near Kyle

Liela Protects Jermaine from his wings being torn off

Jermaine returns the favor to Liela

fight scene ends when all demons are defeated

liela

We have to leave, now!

JERMAINE

Yeah, no kidding.

underground: later

Liela, Darius, Jermaine and Kyle are headed for the underground hideout

the team is walking through the underground

Kyle and darius are behind Jermaine and Liela

JERMAINE

Thank you.. for saving me back there.

Liela

mhm.

JERMAINE

I mean if it wasn’t for you, I’d be..

LIELA

you’d be mortal.

JERMAINE

Yeah.. I’d be that.

JERMAINE

So this mortal you guard, what are they like?

liela

funny, charming. smart and filled with Godly potential.

JERMAINE

Oh yeah? Potential for what?

LIELA

What does it matter to you?

JERMAINE

I suppose it doesn’t.

liela

Thanks.

JERMAINE

for what?

Liela

For saving me back there too.

JERMAINE

Ah come on, we’re like comrades now. It’s what comrades do.

Liela

Can I ask you something?

JERMAINE

Sure?

Liela

What is Hell like?

JERMAINE

Why do you want to know?

Liela says nothing.

JERMAINE

It’s an endless war.

LIELA

What do you mean?

Jermaine

Fallen against Redeemed. Redeemed against Demons and so on.

Liela
and what of the souls?

JERMAINE

Some dwell in torture.. we call them the damned. Others dwell as slaves. Those who dwell as slaves for the fallen have it easier.

LIELA

Why is that?

JERMAINE

If they do right by their Fallen Lord they can be granted wings. Turned from spirit to angel.

LIELA

You mean fallen. How do you guys know when a fallen is a redeemer anyway?

JERMAINE

That’s easy. Redeemers rebel against the fallen. They cover their wings in the blood of their enemies. Red wings are the symbol of the redeemers.

LIELA

But yours and Dairus wings aren’t red?

Liela and Jermaine reach the hideout

The door is ajar

Someone is inside their hideout

Liela raises her hand backwards to Darius and Kyle

Liela and Jermaine look at each other

The area grows quiet

Someone charges through the door

They run out quickly

Jermaine and Liela chase after them

JERMAINE

Hey! Stop!

Darius and Kyle follow from behind

Jermaine and Leila chase the intruder out of the underground

The intruder is fast and swift. Dodging through traffic and hopping over fences.

Jermaine grows tired.

JERMAINE

Forget this..

Jermaine releases his black wings and fly’s above

Jermaine lands in front of the intruder

The intruder falls back and their hoody falls off

The intruder is a female

Liela, Darius and Kyle catch up

LIELA

Who are you!

The intruder gets up

The intruder looks at kyle

Liela lets her white wings and blue eyes show

Liela points a sword at the intruder

Jermaine points his sword at the intruder

The intruder remains staring at Kyle

DARIUS

Kyle, what is she?

Kyle takes a step forward

KYLE

It’s.. it’s unbelievable.. it’s like she’s covered by the entire universe throughout her body

LIELA

Balita!

JERMAINE

That alien race is just a myth.

MArissa

Kyle?

Kyle frowns his eyebrows

The intruder moves Liela’s sword out of the way with two fingers

The intruder walks closer to Kyle

MARISSA

My name is Marissa. I’ve been looking for you.

house – night

Liela, Darius, Jermaine and Kyle are in Marissa’s home

Marissa is carrying tea on a tray

Marissa settles the tea down

Marissa takes a seat

LIELA

How do you know Kyle?

KYLE

Yeah, how?

MARISSA

I’m a Balita, beings of prophecy. I knew of Kyle since the day of his birth.

DARIUS

Well, friend or foe.. what do you want with Kyle.

MARISSA

I want what’s best for him of course though I must say trying to locate the key is the wrong answer.

JERMAINE

How did you..

MARISSA

If Kyle and the key are together, Barabose will certainly stop at nothing.

DARIUS

How do you know about Barabose?

MARISSA

The same way I knew about Kyle. It’s imperative that kyle and the key never meet else Barabose will force the key to open the door to heavens gates.

JERMAINE

Are there others like you?

MARISSA

Here? Yes, their are many. Since we lost our home planet to demons we’ve found shelter here on earth and blended in. Some of us are just waiting for the day we’ll be redeemed.

LIELA

What do you mean?

MARISSA

Since we lost the guardianship of angels we believe that God saw fault in our kind. Some are still loyal to God while others have joined Barabose in his quest to fulfill the Anti-Christs plan.

JERMAINE

Wait? the Anti-Christ?

MARISSA

the one who gives barabose his orders. The son of Satan.

LIELA

So the Anti-Christ wants to wage war on earth and in heaven..

MARISSA

As long as he doesn’t use the link to find the key his plans will fail.

DARIUS

Well we still need answers, like why can kyle see our kind without transformation.

MARISSA

I think I know where we can get those answers. We’ll have to go to the hospital for them.

hospital Journey – night: later

Dairus, Jermaine and Liela and Marissa are walking to the hospital

Jermaine is walking beside Liela

JERMAINE

So Liela, how long have you been a guardian?

Liela

16 years.

JERMAINE

That’s a long time.. any regrets?

LIELA

I have none against the orders of God.

JERMAINE

I take it that’s a stab at me..

Liela says nothing.

Jermaine becomes frustrated and steps in front of Liela.

JERMAINE

Look! Only God is perfect and I’ve tried for many centuries to figure out a way to understand that.

LIELA

The only way to understand God’s perfection is through loyalty Jermaine. You threw that away when you thought your methods were better than His.

JERMAINE

You think I don’t know that? You think this is what I want for myself? For heaven? I only wanted to prove God’s love.

Liela stops walking.

LIELA

The only proof you needed was to accept it.

Jermaine becomes taken aback.

Marissa is walking with Kyle.

KYLE

You said you were waiting for me? Why?

MARISSA

It’s my destiny Kyle and for us Balita’s destiny is everything to our existence.

KYLE

So what happens next once you’ve found me?

MARISSA

This.

They reach the entrance to the hosptial.

Hospital- night

Liela, Jermaine, Kyle, Dairus and Marissa are walking through the hospital.

Marissa signals the group to wait as she searches for someone.

LIELA

I guess we wait here.

Kyle and Darius walk around the hospital.

Jermaine and Liela are left alone.

JERMAINE

Can I ask.. what was it like after the war?

LIELA

Many cheered, some were filled with sorrow but we all felt the glory of God.

JERMAINE

I wish I was among them.. I’m sorry.

LIELA

You should try saying that to God sometime.

JERMAINE

I…

LIELA

Look.. I don’t know if you are truly about redemption or not but God will always have His way of triumph. He’s not just a leader but a symbol of our existence. When you and the others turned your backs it was our chance to prove to ourselves that that symbol was relevant and true.

JERMAINE

I.. I’m glad that you didn’t go against God.. for what it’s worth.

Liela looks at Jermaine.

Liela Sighs.

LIELA

Pray with me Jermaine.

Liela sticks out her hand.

Jermaine looks at Liela.

Jermaine smiles and takes Liela’s hand.

Liela and Jermaine Pray.

Kyle and Dairus start heading back to the group.

Marissa show’s up with three nurses.

DARIUS

How did you…

MARISSA

Beings of prophecy.

DARIUS

right.

Dairus, Kyle, Marissa and the three nurses go to a ward.

Kyle is seated on a bed.

Only one nurse is with kyle.

The other two nurses wait outside the room with Darius and Marissa.

Nurse 1

Kyle is it?

KYLE

Yes ma’m

NURSE 1

You want to know why?

KYLE

yes..

NURSE 1

Close your eyes for me

Kyle hesitates and looks at Darius

Darius nods his head yes

Kyle closes his eyes

The nurse places a finger on Kyle’s forehead

Images of a war in heaven surface in Kyles mind

Kyle see’s himself with wings

Kyle is killed in combat

Kyle is then reborn on earth

The nurse removes her finger

KYLE

This doesn’t make any sense! I thought angels were immortal..

NURSE 1

It doesn’t have to make any sense to you dear Kyle. You were once an angel in heaven who lost in combat. But God knew you’d still be useful in another way.

KYLE

But how come I never knew this? How come Darius never knew? I mean I thought..

NURSE 1

So many questions and very little patience. You must learn to be stronger than you are now.

The nurse gets up and leaves kyle sitting on the bed.

The nurse closes the door to kyles room.

The nurse locks the door.

Kyle gets up.

Kyle

Hey! What’s going on?

DARIUS

What’s the meaning of this?

NURSE 1

You must quickly get to the others… they’re here.

Dairus looks at Marissa

Marissa nods at Darius.

DARIUS

Shouldn’t one of us stay.. to protect Kyle?

NURSE 1

Don’t worry.. this room is built on holy materials from our home planet. No being can break through it. We’ve sealed the walls.

Darius looks at Kyle

DARIUS

Hang in there Kyle! I’ll be back, I promise!

Kyle

Darius!

Darius and Marissa leave quickly.

The 3 nurses smile at Kyle and leave the ward

The lights go off.

Kyle places both hands on the mirror in fear.

hosptial – The final showdown

Kyle is laying on the bed half asleep

Kyle hears foot steps in the hall

Kyle shuts his eyes

Kyle hears them talking and sniffing the room window that he is behind

demon

This is him..

Demon 2

We will have a fine reward if we capture him now

DEMON

Let’s.

The demons try to break down the window

The demons try to break down the door

Kyle is breathing in fear

DEMON

It won’t open…

DEMON 2

Try harder!

The demons remain trying to break the door and window

More demons join them

Kyle begins to sweat in fear

Kyle hears whispering from the floor

MARISSA

(whispering)

Psst. Kyle? It’s me.. are you ok? Answer me with your mind..

Kyle

(thoughts)

I’m scared

Marissa

(whispering)

Don’t move kyle.. they have this floor and the one below surrounded. We’ll get you out just hang in there.

Kyle

(thoughts)

Please hurry.

A door opens in the ward

7 Demons turn to the light coming from the door

Jermaine is in fallen form and is smiling

Demons begin roaring and hissing at Jermaine

Jermaine walks closer

Kyle can hear cutting from the floor beneath him

Jermaine and the 7 demons begin to fight

Kyle, pretending that he is alseep, rolls over to his other side to peek at the mayhem.

Jermaine defeats the 7 demons with minor scratches to his body

Kyle opens his eyes and jumps out of the bed

KYLE

Yeah! Good going Jermaine, you did it!

Jermaine smiles at Kyle

Jermaine then turns his head to the door he came through in fear.

Houstan walks through the door clapping his hands

JERMAINE

kyle.. whatever you do.. do not leave that room.

Houstan charges at Jermaine

Houstan overpowers Jermaine

Jermaine is flung into walls, into the ceiling and over counters.

Houstan appears to be too strong.

Jermaine tries to fight Houstan again.

Houstan punches Jermaine in the face swinging him around.

Now that Jermaines back is turned and is dazed, Houstan grabs Jermaine by the neck and begins to tear his wings off one by one.

Jermaine screams in agony.

Jermaine is now mortal

Houstan throws Jermaine across the room.

Houstan walks towards kyle.

Kyle runs to the bed side and crouches to the floor

Kyle begins to talk in his mind

KYLE

(thoughts)

Marissa! Please hurry! Jermaine is in trouble.. he’s going to..

MARISSA

(whispering)

Don’t worry Kyle, we have this under control.. just lay on the bed. We’re almost done.

Jermaine gets up and wraps his arms around Houstan

Houstan breaks free and begins to pummel Jermaine

The door to the ward opens

Light shines through

Liela steps out from the light

JERMAINE

Liela, no! Get out of here!

Wings burst from Liela’s back

Her eyes go blue

Liela raises her hand

A hammer appears

Liela flies towards Houstan to attack

Houstan knocks Liela away in one strike

Jermaine gets up on his feet.

HOUSTAN

You think I’m afraid of you, gaurdian? Allow me to show you fear!

Houstan opens up a portal to hell

Houstan walks towards Liela

Jermaine grabs Houstan with both of his arms from behind

JERMAINE

Liela Please! Just go and warn the others! You must hurry!

LIELA

Jermaine!

Houstan breaks free

Houstan punches the mortal Jermaine which knocks him to the floor

Houstan picks up Jermaine by his head

Liela and Kyle watch Houstan

Houstan smiles

JERMAINE

(smiling)

Maybe some other time, huh Liela?

Houstan throws Jermaine into the portal

Kyle & Liela

Noo!!!!

KYLE

Liela! Get out of here now! Don’t worry I’ll be ok!

Liela

…jermaine..

Houstan lets out a loud war cry

Liela looks at kyle

KYLE

Please.. think of your gaurdian.

Liela looks sternly at Kyle.

LIELA

I will be back for you.

Liela leaves the room

Houstan watches Liela leave

Houstan turns his attention to Kyle

Houstan paces back and forth in front of the window the Kyle is behind

Houstan strikes it but it doesn’t break

houstan

Tricky, tricky.

MARISSA

(whispering)

Ok Kyle, Lay down! We’re ready to get you out.

Houstan begins to bang on the window repeatedly

Houstan slashes faster and harder without ceasing.

Kyle lays down on the bed

The bed begins to creek

Houstan stops attacking the window

The bed goes through the floor

Houstan lets out a roar of anger

Kyle is reunited with Marissa and Darius.

Kyle looks at Darius after the dust settles.

Darius looks down to the ground.

MARISSA

Now is not the time. His sacrifice won’t be in vain.. you’ll see. We have to find a way out.. or else our chances are done for.

KYLE

But how? The nurse said these halls are filled with demons!

MARISSA

Don’t worry Kyle, we’ll find a way.

Kyle, Marissa and Darius are standing in the room trying to think of a plan

Kyle looks up through the broken ceiling.

Kyle notices the windows and door again.

KYLE

Holy..

MARISSA

Whats that?

KYLE

Holy! We.. we can bless the water in this place and make it holy!

Marissa and Darius look at each other.

Marissa smiles at Kyle.

Marissa turns on the tap and begins to pray

when Marissa is done praying she turns to Kyle

MARISSA

I hope it worked.

Marissa and Kyle open the door to a dark ward.

Darius finds a match and puts it to a fire sprinkler.

The water turns on in the halls.

Screaming can be heard in the hallway

when the screaming is over, they leave the room.

Demons are on each side of the halls hiding from the water

MARISSA

It worked Kyle!

As They leave down the hall they hear whistling.

They stop walking.

Houstan comes from around the corner

Houstan is not phased by the water

HOUSTAN

Time to end this!

Darius lets out a loud yell

Black wings burst from his back

His eyes go black

Darisu charges after Houstan

A fight begins between Houstan and Darius

Marissa and Kyle are watching

Footsteps can be heard from behind them

MARISSA

Kyle.. it was a pleasure knowing you.

Kyle turns to Marissa confused.

KYLE

What…?

A sword pierces through Marissa

Fresco, the leader of the mission is standing behind Kyle

Kyle screams for Marissa

Darius locked hand in hand with Houstan looks down the hall

Houstan headbutts Darius

The sword is pulled out of Marissa

fresco

It’s time little link, to find my key.

Kyle is frightened

Fresco opens up a portal

Fresco reaches for Kyle but then stops

Fresco quicklly dodges out of the way as Houstan, without his wings, is flung into the portal

Liela is standing with Darius

Fresco stares at Darius and Liela

Liela and Darius begin to walk towards Fresco

A fight begins in the hallway

Kyle is sheilding himself from the debris

Fresco knocks Darius over to Kyle

Fresco grips Liela’s neck and is about to throw her into the portal

Kyle and Darius charge after Fresco

Fresco lets go of Liela

Fresco knocks Kyle out of the way

Darius is struck by the sword and is kneeling in front of the portal

Fresco drags kyle by the collar

Fresco puts one foot into the portal

Kyle wakes up

Darius stands on His feet

Fresco smiles.

Fresco throws Kyle into the abyss.

Darius screams and the windows shatter, the floor breaks and the ceiling falls apart.

Fresco walks into the abyss and dissapears.

The portal is still open.

DARIUS

I.. I lost kyle.. I have to .. I have..

LIELA

Darius.. if you go back in there your chances at redemption..

DARIUS

I have to.. I have to find Kyle.. it’s the only way

LIELA

Darius, please!

DARIUS

It’s the only way Liela.. it’s the only way.

Darius gets up and goes back into mortal form.

Darius walks into the portal

The portal dissapears

The demons dissapear into the darkness

Liela is left standing in the hallway.

End.